How many groups are there to categorize Paralympic swimming athletes?

How many Paralympic categories are there?

All impairment groups can take part in equestrian sport with Para-dressage the only event on the Paralympic programme. There are five grades in the sport, with riders divided depending upon the nature and extent of their impairment.

What are the categories of Paralympics swimming?

World Para Swimming caters for three impairment groups – physical, intellectual and vision. The sport class names in swimming consist of a prefix “S” or “SB” and a number. The prefixes stand for the strokes and the number indicates the sport classes.

How are Paralympics classified?

Classes 1-5 are for wheelchair athletes. Classes 6-10 are for standing athletes. Finally, class 11 is for athletes with intellectual impairments. Within the wheelchair and standing classes, the lower the number, the greater the impact the impairment has on an athlete’s ability to compete.

What are the 8 classifications for Paralympic sports?

Categories of disability

  • Amputee athletes.
  • Cerebral Palsy athletes.
  • Vision impaired athletes.
  • Wheelchair athletes.
  • Les Autres (“the others”)
  • Intellectual impairment.

What are the 6 disability groups in Paralympics?

Paralympics welcomes athletes from six main disability categories: amputee, cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, visually impaired, spinal injuries and Les Autres (French for “the others”, a category that includes conditions that do not fall into the categories mentioned before).

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Your question: Is there bench press in the Olympics?

What is C5 in Paralympics?

Sport class C1 is allocated to athletes with the most severe activity limitation, while the sport class C5 is allocated to athletes with minimum impairments.

What are 5 of the disability groups in the Paralympics?

These include Visual Impairment, Intellectual Impairment, and eight different types of Physical Impairment:

  • Impaired muscle power.
  • Impaired passive range of movement.
  • Loss of limb or limb deficiency.
  • Leg-length difference.
  • Short stature.

What are the three steps for classification in the Paralympics?

Classification follows a three-step process:

  • Does the athlete have at least one of the ten eligible impairments? …
  • Does the athlete meet the Minimum Impairment Criteria (MIC) specific to the sport they wish to compete in? …
  • Which sport class should the athlete compete in?