How many sports will there be in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics this summer?

What are the 5 new sports added to the Tokyo Olympics?

The Tokyo Olympics look like no other Summer Games before and that’s partially because this year’s competition will feature several brand-new sports: 3×3 basketball, skateboarding, sport climbing, surfing and karate.

What are the 33 sports in the Summer Olympics of 2020?

What sports are in the Olympics?

  • 3×3 Basketball.
  • Archery.
  • Artistic gymnastics.
  • Artistic (synchronised) swimming.
  • Badminton.
  • Baseball/softball.
  • Basketball.
  • Beach volleyball.

What sports were dropped for Tokyo 2020?

They are baseball and softball (both were dropped by the IOC in 2005), karate, squash, roller sports, sport climbing, wakeboarding and wushu. IOC spokesman Mark Adams is quoted in the report as saying that the decision was made for the benefit of the other sports and not because they had an issue with wrestling.

Which game is removed from Olympics 2020?

But weightlifting is facing a threat of being removed from the Olympic Games over issues involving its governing body. The International Olympic Committee (IOC), in fact, has now given itself more powers to drop a sport from the Olympic programme.

What sport is no longer in the Olympics?

Since the first modern Games in 1896, 10 sports have disappeared completely from the Olympic schedule. These are croquet, cricket, Jeu de Paume, pelota, polo, roque, rackets, tug-of-war, lacrosse, and motor boating.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Your question: What happened to Atlanta after the Olympics?

Where are the 2024 Olympics?

How many sports are in the Olympics list?

In 2012 there were 26 sports contested, increasing to 28 in 2016, and 33 in 2020. The next Olympic Games in Paris 2024 are expected to have 32 sports with the debut of breakdancing, while karate, baseball & softball are dropped from the program.

How many times has Tokyo hosted Olympics?

Asia has hosted the Summer Olympics four times: in Tokyo (1964 and 2021), Seoul (1988), and Beijing (2008).