What is the eligibility criteria to participate in Special Olympics?

Who is eligible for Special Olympics?

To be eligible to participate in Special Olympics, athletes must have an intellectual disability; a cognitive delay, or a development disability, that is, functional limitations in both general learning and adaptive skills.

How do you get into Special Olympics?

Age Requirements

Athletes must be at least eight years of age to participate in Special Olympics competition. Certain sports and events may further restrict athlete participation based on age. If pertinent, additional age requirements are indicated in the specific rules for each sport.

What is the age limit for the Olympics?

According to the official Olympics website, there is no age limit for those wanting to compete. Under rule 42, it states: “There may be no age limit for competitors in the Olympic Games other than as prescribed in the competition rules of an IF as approved by the IOC Executive Board.”

Do Special Olympians get paid?

But, no, the United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee doesn’t pay the Olympians a salary. They can make money from teams that are sponsored, endorsements, or medal winnings.

Which is not a qualification for Special Olympics?

If the functional limitations are solely due to physical disabilities, emotional disturbance, behavior disorders, specific learning disabilities, visual impairments, or sensory disabilities, this person is not eligible for Special Olympics.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Will the US boycott the Beijing Olympics?

Does autism qualify for Paralympics?

There is not a class for High Functioning Autism in Paralympic sport. Athletes with Autism who also meet the criteria for II-1 intellectual disability will be classified in that class and are eligible for Paralympics.

Does multiple sclerosis qualify for Paralympics?

To qualify for the Paralympics, athletes must have a disability that belongs to at least one of 10 eligible “types” (for example, hypertonia, impaired muscle power or ataxia), as well as meet the minimum disability criteria. …