What qualifies a Paralympic athlete?

What are the 6 disability groups in Paralympics?

Paralympics welcomes athletes from six main disability categories: amputee, cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, visually impaired, spinal injuries and Les Autres (French for “the others”, a category that includes conditions that do not fall into the categories mentioned before).

What counts as disability for Paralympics?

Determining whether an athlete is eligible to compete in certain events, each sport has its own set of classifications, usually focusing on at least one of the following 10 eligible impairments: impaired muscle power, impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency, leg length difference, short stature, muscle

What are the 8 classifications for Paralympic sports?

Categories of disability

  • Amputee athletes.
  • Cerebral Palsy athletes.
  • Vision impaired athletes.
  • Wheelchair athletes.
  • Les Autres (“the others”)
  • Intellectual impairment.

What are 5 of the disability groups in the Paralympics?

These include Visual Impairment, Intellectual Impairment, and eight different types of Physical Impairment:

  • Impaired muscle power.
  • Impaired passive range of movement.
  • Loss of limb or limb deficiency.
  • Leg-length difference.
  • Short stature.

Does mental disability qualify for Paralympics?

The sports and event s offered by Virtus events and criteria for these groups and will be revised/expanded as the pilot progresses. Only Athletes with Autism who meet the criteria for II-1 Intellectual Disability are eligible for Paralympic events.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Are Olympic swimming pools heated?

Does autism qualify for Paralympics?

There is not a class for High Functioning Autism in Paralympic sport. Athletes with Autism who also meet the criteria for II-1 intellectual disability will be classified in that class and are eligible for Paralympics.