What years and where were Olympic Games held in the Southern Hemisphere?

Do Southern Hemisphere countries host Olympics?

Argentina is the only country in the Southern Hemisphere to have hosted the Winter Games. … Neither Argentina nor any other country in the Southern Hemisphere has ever played host to the Winter Games. In 1956, Melbourne, Australia, became the first nation south of the equator to organize a Summer Olympics.

Where were the Olympics held each year?

Host cities for Summer and Winter Olympic Games

City Country Year
Rio de Janeiro Brazil 2016
Pyeongchang South Korea 2018
Tokyo Japan 2020
Beijing China 2022

Where was the 1948 Olympics held?

Where was the 1964 Olympics held?

How many times has the Olympic Games been held in the Southern Hemisphere?

The only two countries in the Southern Hemisphere to have hosted the Summer Olympics have been Australia (1956, 2000, and upcoming 2032) and Brazil (2016), with Africa having yet to host any Summer Olympics.

Why have there been so few Olympic Games hosted south of the equator?

Of the 22 Winter Olympics that have been held since 1924, none have been hosted in the Southern Hemisphere. … Land in the Southern Hemisphere is concentrated closer to the equator, where more direct sunlight increases heat and lowers the chances of snow accumulation.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: In which year MC Mary Kom won the bronze medal in Olympics?

In what hemisphere have most of the Olympics been held northern or southern?

These Games were the first to be staged in the Southern Hemisphere and Oceania, as well as the first to be held outside Europe and North America. Melbourne is the most southerly city ever to host the Olympics.

Host city selection.

City Melbourne
Country Australia
Round 1 14
Round 2 18
Round 3 19

What years have the Olympics been held?


  • Athens, Greece. April 6-15, 1896.
  • Paris, France. May 20-October 28, 1900.
  • St. Louis, Missouri, USA. July 1-November 23, 1904.
  • London, England. April 27-October 31, 1908.
  • Stockholm, Sweden. May 5-July 22, 1912.
  • Berlin, Germany. CANCELLED.
  • Antwerp, Belgium. April 20-September 12, 1920.
  • Paris, France. May 4-July 27, 1924.